Rock Products Logo

AGG1 Day Two

DSC03823March 21, 2013 – The second day of the AGG1 show continued with good booth traffic and additional educational sessions. The NSSGA convention is also a big part of AGG1. The Annual Honors Awards Ceremony honored the best operations and outstanding individuals.  Awards were presented to the Stars of Excellence Award winners; all Gold winners for the Safety, Environmental and Community Relations Excellence Awards; Luck Companies’ Abel Parker, James M. Christie Safety and Health Professional Award for 2012; and North Carolina Aggregates Association’s  Jay Stem, NSSGA’s 2012 State Aggregates Association Executive of the Year. Steve Zelnak, 2004 chairman of NSSGA and chairman of Martin Marietta Materials, was named the recipient of the 16th annual Barry K. Wendt Memorial Commitment Award for his dedication to the construction aggregates industry, his family and his community. Luck Companies' Charles "Charlie" Luck, IV, president and CEO, and John Pullen, chief growth officer, shared how Values Based Leadership started and its key role in transforming associates and the culture at Luck Stone and Luck Companies.